In the Spotlight: Fai Marie Dawson

 

Today I’m very lucky to be interviewing Fai Marie Dawson, author of Please Understand.

Hi Fai, thank you for agreeing to this interview. Tell us a little about yourself, your background, and your current book.

  • What’s the easiest thing about writing?

For me, the easiest part of writing is coming up with story ideas. They filter into my mind at all times of the day and night. I have a note-taking app on my phone so I can write my ideas down no matter where I am before they wander off to find someone else to write them. Once captured, they wait impatiently to become my new project. Where do the ideas come from? My Instagram page is all about my cat, Pepe. He is my muse. It seems like a large percentage of my ideas come while he’s in the same room. Is it possible they come from him? If you asked him, he would take the credit.

  • Name one author (living or dead) you’d like to write with?

That would be Edgar Allan Poe! I don’t write in his genre, but his skill of pulling me into his story and filling my heart with dread has always made him my favorite! I would love to talk with him about how he crafted his stories! One year I went to Baltimore, MD and spent Halloween night at the cemetery where he is buried. I touched his tombstone while the music from the old pipe organ in the church wafted through the fog. We left around midnight, and our GPS went insane on the way out of Baltimore. When we figured out where we were, we discovered we were on the same block that they had found him…Best Halloween ever!

  • Tell us about your cover and how it came about.

I love the cover of Please Understand! MLR Press requested a description of the cover I envisioned. Their cover artist, Melody Pond drew up exactly what I had in mind. Two men with a bookstore in the background. I wanted more than lust, I wanted a warm connection, and sure enough, the playfulness of these two shines through.

  • Is this book part of a series? Do you have ideas that could make it into a series? If it is a series, tell us a little about it.

I did not have any plan to make Please Understand into a series when I wrote it. While I was re-reading it during the editing process, questions about Mrs. Jones background got me thinking she must have had an interesting past. Perhaps an idea for another book someday. I would love to write about her again.

 

 

Picture1

 

Author Name: Fai Marie Dawson

 

Book Name: Please Understand

 

Release Date: July 30, 2015

Blurb:

To keep his mother off his back, Fox struggles to live life as a straight man. Following his failed marriage, he thinks he’s found a piece of heaven when he meets Audrey, a sexy dark-haired beauty. When he’s introduced to her twin brother, his life turns upside down. Mrs. Jones, a regular shopper at Fox’s quaint neighborhood bookstore, steps in to referee the fall-out. Can Fox maintain relationships with both Audrey and her brother? Can a late night train chase bring Fox closer to the one he loves? How far will Fox’s mother go to keep her son tight in her clutches?

 

Pages or Words: 239 pages/82,000 words

 

Categories: Bisexual, Contemporary, Gay Fiction, M/M Romance, Romance, *Trans

 

Excerpt:

It was shortly after lunch on Friday that Mrs. Jones came in. Although she had shown such tenderness to Audrey, I was still in fear and awe of this woman. To me she was curt and demanding. I still dreaded Fridays on account of her. Today she barged through the door: middle aged, shaped like a tank, with a formidable purse that I suspected she could brandish as a weapon if she so chose. I shamefully admit that I hid, shaking, in the back room. I remained hidden behind the door as I watched through the space under the hinge.

She marched straight over to Tommie, who was innocently concentrating in his chair, bent over his laptop. He didn’t stand a chance.

“You, there!”

Tommie looked up and scanned the shop. Not finding me, he sacrificed himself for the greater cause.

“Yes?”

“Tommie?”

He said something I couldn’t hear then he looked around the shop again, I supposed in a vain hope that I might come rescue him. I saw him take a deep breath, preparing himself for the inevitable. Poor man didn’t have a clue what he was up against. I knew I should come out of hiding, but so help me, I didn’t have the strength. I had been dealing with her on my own every Friday for over a year, and my morbid curiosity wanted to see what she could do to someone else.

“What can I help you with, Ms. ––?

“Mrs. Jones.” She said it decisively and firmly. No question about it, she was Mrs. Jones. Like no other, she stood like a rock.

He nodded and snapped his laptop shut. “What can I help you with, Mrs. Jones?” When he stood, her eyes scanned down his body like a CT scan, slowly taking in and savoring every inch carefully.

He carried his laptop and set it on the shelf under the front counter. Mrs. Jones took in the view from behind, her head tilted thoughtfully.

I remained silent. This was getting interesting. I was seeing a side of Mrs. Jones I hadn’t known existed. I was anxious to see if Tommie could handle her.

“Well,” she said a bit breathlessly. “Tommie, your jeans are a bit tight.” He turned slowly, but her eyes settled on his mid­section, centering on the zipper of his jeans.

“My eyes are up here, Mrs. Jones.”

“Totally inappropriate!” But her eyes still wandered appreciatively over Tommie’s landscape.

“Very well, Mrs. Jones,” I saw him smile pleasantly then ask, “But may I help you find something?”

I didn’t hear what she said, but to my dismay, he led her to the closet where my adult books were stashed. I almost came out to prevent the disaster that I anticipated, but instead of indignation, within moments they returned to the front desk, and I watched as he rang up her purchases. She had chosen several books.

“I hope you enjoy these, Mrs. Jones.”

“You’ve been most helpful, Tommie, not like that naughty Fox that you work for.”

She waved goodbye happily and blew him a kiss as she went out the door, her purchases held tightly to her ample chest.

“Coward!” I assumed he was talking to me, although he didn’t look up.

 

Buy the book:  

http://www.mlrbooks.com/books.php

http://www.amazon.com/Please-Understand-Fai-Marie-Dawson-ebook/dp/B01323CPB8/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1438804653&sr=1-1

 

Meet Fai Dawson:

Fai Dawson lives in a small town thirty miles northeast of Seattle Washington in the foothills of the Cascade Mountains with her beloved wife, Becky. Together, they work on restoring their 110-year-old Victorian home. She spends her days writing, blogging and walking Moxie, their Newfie-Chow through the rainy streets of town. Pepe, a brave and proud tuxedo cat is her muse, ever mindful of providing inspiration for her next project. Although she has filled countless journals in her life, she began writing seriously in 2009 as a way to deal with anxiety. She is currently working on her next manuscript.

 

Where to find Fai Dawson:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/fai.dawson

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/faimariedawson?fref=ts

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Faidrah

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/faimarie/

Instagram: https://instagram.com/faidrah/

 

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26016051-please-understand

Publisher: MLR Press

Cover Artist: Melody Pond


Tour Dates & Stops:

31-Aug MM Good Book Reviews

1-Sep Inked Rainbow Reads

2-Sep Vampires, Werewolves, and Fairies, Oh My

3-Sep Iyana Jenna

4-Sep Molly Lolly

7-Sep Jessie G. Books

8-Sep Love Bytes

9-Sep Mikky’s World of Books

10-Sep Divine Magazine

11-Sep Nephylim

14-Sep Prism Book Alliance

15-Sep LeAnn’s Book Reviews

16-Sep BFD Book Blog, Two Chicks Obsessed With Books and Eye Candy

17-Sep Vampires, Werewolves, and Fairies, Oh My

18-Sep My Fiction Nook

21-Sep Kimi-Chan, Happily Ever Chapter

22-Sep Bayou Book Junkie

23-Sep Hearts on Fire

24-Sep Scattered Thoughts & Rogue Words

25-Sep Wicked Faerie’s Tales and Reviews

a Rafflecopter giveaway
//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Leave a Reply

